Thursday, 17 January, 2019

India rests pace spearhead Bumrah for Australia ODIs, NZ tour

Jasprit Bumrah picked 21 wickets in the four Test series against Australia Jasprit Bumrah picked 21 wickets in the four Test series against Australia
Kristopher Love | 12 January, 2019, 15:30

Pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah has been rested for the limited-overs global series in Australia and the tour of New Zealand after playing a starring role in India's first ever test series triumph Down Under. He bowled more overs (157.1) than any other fast bowler in the series, finishing the series as the top wicket-taker.

India's Jasprit Bumrah, right, celebrates with teammate K.L. Rahul after bowling out Australia's Peter Handscomb on day 4 of their cricket test match in Sydney, Sunday, Jan. 6, 2019.

Bumrah has been rested for the 3-match T20I series against New Zealand as well, a BCCI release said on Tuesday.

Led by Bumrah, the Indians easily outbowled Australia in the Test series, prompting home captain Tim Paine to call it "potentially the best pace attack in the world".

More recently, he toured New Zealand as part of the India A squad for three first-class matches in which he took seven wickets in three innings. Siraj will replace him in the ODI team for the series against Australia while Siddarth Kaul will replace him for the T20I series against New Zealand.

Siraj, who has played three T20Is, picked up seven wickets for Hyderabad in their last Ranji Trophy clash against Punjab.

India start their three ODI series against Australia on January 12 and end the tour in Melbourne on January 18.

Kaul has played three ODIs and two T20Is, with his last worldwide match during the Asia Cup in September in the UAE, where he played only one match, against Afghanistan.

India T20I squad for New Zealand: Kohli (c), Sharma (vc), Rahul, Dhawan, Rishabh Pant, Karthik, Jadhav, Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Yadav, Chahal, Kumar, Siraj, Ahmed, Siddarth Kaul.

New Zealand leg-spinner Ish Sodhi and fast bowler Lachlan Ferguson have moved up to become joint-31st position holders after their credible performances during a 3-0 sweep over Sri Lanka. They will then play three T20Is in New Zealand in February.