Wednesday, 20 February, 2019

AP top player Murray adds O’Brien; Tua wins Camp

Kristopher Love | 08 December, 2018, 01:49

A tight battle raged between Alabama's Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma's Kyler Murray.

He beat out Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Ohio State quarterback Dwayne Haskins for the Associated Press' honor, but he will still face off against them in the race for the Heisman Trophy. Tagovailoa also won the Walter Camp Award, another award that goes to the best player in the country. The Oklahoma quarterback topped Tagovailoa for the Davey O'Brien Award given to the nation's top quarterback.

Tagovailoa, a 2017 Saint Louis School graduate, beat out Murray, Washington State quarterback Gardner Minshew II, West Virginia quarterback Will Grier and Kentucky linebacker Josh Allen for the Camp Award. He joins Henry (2015) and McCarron (2013) as the only Crimson Tide players to win the Maxwell Award.

While Tagovailoa was voted the best player, he didn't win best quarterback.

Murray received 39 first-place votes and a total of 145 points.

The last five Walter Camp winners won the Heisman Trophy and the last four Maxwell winners have won the Heisman. McCarron was the last Maxwell Award victor to not win the Heisman.

On Friday, Murray will head to New York City for Heisman Trophy weekend. The Oakland Athletics took Murray with the ninth pick in the Major League Baseball draft in June. Through 13 games, the sophomore has completed 67.7 percent of his passes for 3,353 yards and a school-record 37 touchdowns.

After a record-setting season, Murray is set to take home a list of awards, starting with this one.

Murray started his career at Texas A&M, where his father, Kevin Murray, set season and career passing records as the Aggies' quarterback in the mid-1980s.