Wednesday, 20 February, 2019

Meet The 2019 Nominees For The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame

Stacy Diaz | 10 October, 2018, 10:41

LL Cool J and Kraftwerk were each unsuccessfully nominated four times in the past, while both MC5 and the Zombies have received three nods apiece to no avail. A ceremony honoring them is planned at Barclays Center in Brooklyn on March 29.

The other nominees are: Janet Jackson, Kraftwerk, LL Cool J, MC5, Rufus featuring Chaka Khan and The Zombies.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame sends ballots to over 1,000 artists, historians and members of the music industry to select the inductees. Fans who visit the Rock Hall in Cleveland can also cast their vote at a kiosk adjacent to the gallery devoted to last year's inductees.

In a surprise twist, zero artists eligible for the first time this year were nominated, which includes OutKast, Beck, Jeff Buckley, The Roots, Dave Matthews Band, and Snoop Dogg. For some, the pinnacle of the list contains musings such as one day winning a Grammy award.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame is getting ready to induct another band/artist for 2019.

Among the acts receiving their first nomination this year were Devo, an avant garde group from Akron, Ohio, best known for its 1980 party favorite "Whip It", as well as British group Roxy Music, and the American multi-instrumentalist Todd Rundgren.

The 2019 nominee ballot is here and the 2019 Fan Vote presented by Klipsch Audio is now open.