Wednesday, 18 July, 2018

Facebook bug secretly unblocked people you thought you’d blocked

Image Source Facebook Image Source Facebook
Sherri Watson | 03 July, 2018, 15:46

"We know that the ability to block someone is important - and we'd like to apologize and explain what happened", Egan wrote. Facebook, instead, allows these users to connect via Messenger, while a previously blocked person may also be able to spot public posts from the person.

"While someone who was unblocked could not see content shared with friends, they could have seen things posted to a wider audience, for example pictures shared with friends of friends", explained Facebook's chief privacy officer Erin Egan. The bug deleted some associations across Facebook and Messenger, and this caused the block settings for the affected users to be lost.

Facebook on Monday said it is notifying more than 800,000 users that a software bug temporarily unblocked people at the social network and its Messenger service.

"There are many reasons why people block another person on Facebook". Unblocked users have been blocked again.

Egan acknowledged how serious the bug was, especially for users who blocked possibly invasive people. Blocking also automatically unfriends them if the users were previously friends.

Facebook confirmed that a bug has temporarily unblocked some users from the block lists of around 800,000 users. In other news, Facebook is rolling out a number of API changes for third-party apps to limit information access to protect user's privacy after the Cambridge Analytica saga. Users affected by the bug should expect to see a notification asking them to go over go over their blocked list. Personal and sensitive data of users was scraped by the analytics company which was allegedly used for Trump campaign for the United States presidential polls 2016, among others.