Saturday, 18 August, 2018

Phil Mickelson shockingly chases, swats moving ball with putter

Kristopher Love | 17 June, 2018, 00:26

"It's something you might see at your home course with your mates or something", Johnston said.

Phil Mickelson was assessed a two-stroke penalty for hitting a moving ball at the 13th hole during the third round of the US Open at Shinnecock Hills.

As he walked off the green, he could be seen smiling and talking to playing partner Andrew Johnston, who also was smiling. The ball then started rolling back toward the cup, but missed. "It's just one of them things that just happened".

"I don't mean disrespect to anybody", Mickelson said after his round.

If Mickelson's outburst was indeed a shot at the USGA he wouldn't be the first player to have some qualms with the conditions at Shinnecock; Bryson DeChambeau burst out earlier this week, calling Thursday's round "clown golf".

For some reason, he made a decision to give himself the gift of a two-stroke penalty during the third round of the U.S. Open.

"John Daly's reputation took a hit after what he did at Pinehurst in '99 and I fear it will be the same for Phil", said former U.S. Golf Association executive director David Fay. On the 18th hole in the second round, Triplett stuck his putter in the ground as a backstop when his ball was headed back down from the hole. Mickelson, who was celebrating his 48th birthday on Saturday, continued to play on.

Mickelson was having a miserable time before reaching 13. At that time, I just didn't feel like going back and forth and hitting the same shot over.

Mickelson later said he did not mean the shot to be disrespectful, saying there was "no question" the ball was going to roll off the green, and he chose to take the penalty rather than the alternative.

"I've never seen anything like that from a world class player in my life", said odd.

A player must not make a stroke at his ball while it is moving. "As a result, he incurred a two stroke penalty for a breach of Rule 14-5".