Sunday, 21 October, 2018

Gov. LePage joins 6 other governors backing Trump for Nobel Peace Prize

President Donald Trump speaks at the North Side Gymnasium in Elkhart Ind. Thursday President Donald Trump speaks at the North Side Gymnasium in Elkhart Ind. Thursday
Melinda Barton | 16 May, 2018, 06:38

Ivey and six fellow governors wrote to Norwegian Nobel Committee chairman Berit Reiss-Andersen this week, citing what they called Trump's "transformative efforts to bring peace to the Korean peninsula".

Henry McMaster has organized a group of USA governors in an effort to get the Nobel Peace Prize awarded to President Donald Trump.

In the letter, those who endorsed the President said, "Though he has only been in office one year, President Trump has achieved an unprecedented victory for global peace and security". The governors' letter came amid reports from South Korea's Yonhap News Agency that North Korea was canceling a high-level meeting planned between the two countries due to the ongoing military exercises between the US and South Korea.

He has facilitated face-to-face meetings with South Korea and North Korea that are leading to the long-desired peace brokering between the two countries.

Led by Governor McMaster of SC, the letter praised the President's push towards the full denuclearization of the Korean peninsula; saying his administration is clearing the path towards the end of the 68-year-long Korean War.

House Minority Leader Jim Ward, D-Wichita, criticized Colyer's decision to sign the letter as a partisan move.

Presidents have received the prize in the past.

The awarding of the Nobel Peace Prize has often been controversial.

Presidents who have won the Nobel Prize include, Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Jimmy Carter, and Barack Obama.