Wednesday, 20 June, 2018

Congress questions BJP for stating number of winning seats

Rebel Congressmen have been winning elections but on BJP tickets Congress questions BJP for stating number of winning seats
Nellie Chapman | 15 May, 2018, 16:03

The election for the Jayanagara seat in Bengaluru was countermanded following the death of BJP candidate and sitting MLA B N Vijaykumar on May 4.

The election to the Rajarajeshwari Nagar seat has been deferred to May 28 after the seizure of fake voter cards from an apartment.

So far, the BJP is leading in 7 seats in coastal Karnataka, while Congress is leading in 3.

It would be clear post noon whether the voters in Karnataka have given their verdict decisively as being claimed by the political parties, or for a hung assembly as projected by a majority of the post-poll surveys.

BJP is closing in, with 52 seats at 8.31am.

It is a neck to neck fight between BJP and Congress, as Congress leading on 75 seats and BJP leading on 77 seats at 9.02am.

Among the prominent candidates are Chief Minister Siddaramaiah from Chamundeshwari district in Mysuru and Badami in Bagalkot and his son Yatindra from Varuna in Mysuru.

BJP fielded 223 candidates while Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) fielded 222 and 201 candidates respectively.

India TV-VMR Exit Poll has predicted hung assembly in Karnataka.

Moreover, JD (S) leader HD Deve Gowda is not keen on supporting a Congress led by C Siddaramaiah, who is also a Vokkaliga like him and part of the Janatha Party family. The Karnataka assembly results in 2018 are most likely to be in favour of BSY from this particular seat. The India Today-Axis exit poll said the Congress would be the single largest party. But now the question is even if Congress becomes single largest party but if it does not surpass the magic number will it be able to form the government. JD (S)+ is gaining, with leads on 16 seats for now.

Out of the 222 seats, 80-90 are expected to go to the BJP, while anywhere from 35-50 are expected to go to the JD (S).

The Congress had won 122 seats and the BJP 40 seats in the last Karnataka Assembly election in 2013.