Friday, 20 July, 2018

De Gea wins Player of the Year award

De Gea wins Player of the Year award De Gea wins Player of the Year award
Kristopher Love | 02 May, 2018, 11:59

David De Gea has proved his worth at Manchester United once again by being voted as the club's Player of the Year for a record fourth time.

Following an astounding season in goal however, David De Gea has rightfully reclaimed the award.

Goalkeeper De Gea becomes the first player in Manchester United history to win the award four times, surpassing three-time victor Cristiano Ronaldo.

The former Atletico Madrid stopper also named the Player's Player of the Year as voted for by the United squad.

As per the official website of Manchester United, "There were more than 107,000 votes, with De Gea receiving two-thirds of the final count (67 percent)".

He said after receiving the trophy: "It's hard for words what Manchester United means to me".

After winning the coveted Sir Matt Busby award, De Gea revealed his shock at winning it four times.

De Gea, who kept 21 clean sheets in all competitions this season for the club so far, said that he feels "amazing" to be part of the club after the trophy win. "For anyone, It's awesome to play for this club, with the history of this club, for the fans, for everything".

"It was hard in the beginning, but I believed in myself, I worked hard and I am proud of myself as well". I didn't expect to win one but now I have won it four times so it's unbelievable for me.

And sources said Mourinho will give Romero, who is also hoping to be part of Argentina's squad at this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation, as much time as possible to get over his injury before deciding who will start in the final.

"I'm happy", Matic said.

Apart from De Gea, the youngster Scott McTominay also won big as he was awarded the Jose Mourinho's Player of the Year Trophy.

Nemanja Matic's injury-time victor against Crystal Palace in March was voted the Goal of the Season for 2017/18 in a fans poll.