Thursday, 20 September, 2018

BJP releases second list of 82 candidates for Karnataka elections

Melinda Barton | 16 April, 2018, 19:18

According to CNN-News18, no Muslim or Christian candidate has been given a ticket by the BJP.

With under a month to go for the Karnataka Assembly election, Bengaluru's temperature is not the only thing that is rising.It is also the political tension that is steady building up.

Numerous 154 candidates declared in the first two lists were ministers & MLAs when BJP won Karnataka in 2008, but also face criminal & corruption charges.

BJP president Amit Shah and the party's CM candidate B.S. Yeddyurappa.

The Congress had yesterday released its list of 218 candidates.

Senior leader P Ramesh called the party "Tughlaq Congress" and said he would contest the election from CV Raman Nagar in Bengaluru as a JD (S) candidate as Siddaramaiah had told him he would not get a ticket. The BJP's Central Election Committee held a meeting on Sunday for finalising the names to be included in the second list. Disgruntled leaders threatened to resign from the party membership, even as their loyalists vandalised party offices and created a ruckus at various places within the state.

Leaders have also cited that "outsiders", who are supporters of CM Siddharamaiah, have been given tickets against loyalists who have been with the party for years. "With a strong BJP wave in the district, the list of aspirants is long", he said. Sunil Naik who was battling it out with JD Naik for the party ticket finally secured the ticket from Bhatkal-Honnavar constituency. He will contest from Vijayapura. Chamundershwari was won by the Janata Dal (Secular) in the previous election.

Karnataka is one of the few Indian states which is being ruled by the Congres.

Krishnaiah Setty, an old associate of Yeddyurappa, has been fielded from from Malur.

The number of women candidates among the candidates announced by both the national parties is too low.