Friday, 27 April, 2018

All accused acquitted in 2007 Mecca Masjid blast case in Hyderabad

Mecca Masjid blast accused Swami Aseemanand 2007 Mecca Masjid blast: All accused, including Swami Aseemanand, acquitted
Melissa Porter | 16 April, 2018, 21:46

On May 18, 2007, bomb blast during Friday prayers in the mosque adjacent to Hyderabad's Charminar had killed nine people and had injured at least 58 people.

2008 Malegaon blast case: On September 29, 2008, a blast ripped through Malegaon, Nashik district, Maharashtra, claiming the lives of seven people and injuring nearly 100 others. However, he later said the confession had been "coerced out" of him. In the whole statement, Swami Aseemanand nowhere says that he was involved in the crime.

"The CBI tried to coin the concept of Hindu terror, saffron terror, and P. Chidambaram and Mr (Sushilkumar) Shinde, while they were home ministers, projected that only Muslims are not, but Hindus are also terrorists".

Reacting to the verdict, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) rebuked the Congress for coining the "Hindu terror" and demanded an apology from party's president Rahul Gandhi. Investigations were continuing against two other accused.

Tejram Parmar and Amith Chowhan are still being investigated. After a thorough investigation, the case has been transferred to the CBI. Swami Aseemanand was acquitted in that case. Nearly all of them were detained at a guest house where they alleged torture at the hands of SIT.

Ten people belonging to different Hindu extreme right-wing organization were named as accused by the NIA. In 2011, the NIA took over the case.

The Mecca Masjid case has faced several setbacks. Later, all were acquitted by a local court for lack of evidence. He had allegedly disclosed the conspiracy behind the bomb blasts in different places, including Mecca.

Aseemanand subsequently retracted the statement, saying he was made to confess under duress.

"Indreshji met me at Shabri Dham (Aseemanand's ashram in the Dangs district of Gujarat) sometime in 2005". The trial against the accused had resulted in the conviction of only three - Sunil Joshi, Devendra Gupta and Bhavesh Patel.

In November 2016, four important NIA witnesses turned hostile.

"We have not got is the responsibility of the government to move the High Court against today's judgment and see to it that all of them are punished accordingly", he said.