Wednesday, 23 January, 2019

V Muraleedharan files nomination for RS contest

Congress secures allies for Rajya Sabha polls aims to challenge BJP-led NDA in 2019 elections V Muraleedharan files nomination for RS contest
Stacy Diaz | 14 March, 2018, 09:27

Agarwal joined the BJP on Monday.

Hussain, a Youth Congress leader, obtained doctorate in global politics from the Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi. When asked about the excessive Value-Added Tax being imposed on petrol and diesel in Madhya Pradesh, he said the matter would be discussed after the Rajya Sabha elections.

Shukla is learnt to have got the approval from Congress President Rahul Gandhi to file his nomination papers from Gujarat. The BSP has nominated Bhimrao Ambedkar while Jaya Bachchan will be the SP's candidate.

In Bihar, there are six vacancies. Arithmetically, the BJP can easily win eight out of the 10 seats.

He had met BJP president Amit Shah in New Delhi last week, when he said he was offered a Rajya Sabha berth.

The party might announce the name by Sunday, since the last date for submission of nomination is Monday.

The Congress has chosen "Kannadiga" candidates as the party is planning to swing votes by playing the pro-Kannada stance to counter the BJP's Hindutva agenda. The TRS has the strength in the Legislature to ensure victory for all of its three candidates. The BJP had nominated sitting Rajya Sabha MPs and Union Ministers Parshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya.

Following Ghaziabad businessman Anil Agarwal's candidature for the tenth seat things may be a little hard for the BSP as there is a possibility of the BJP supporting the former's candidature.

"Chief minister Devendra Fadnavis has started calling the disgruntled among our legislators", a Congress politician said from Mumbai.

Former Mahila Morcha leader Saroj Pande is the BJP nominee from Chhattisgarh. BJP general secretary Bhupendra Yadav is contesting from Rajasthan. Former Maharashtra Congress leader Narayan Rane and the BJP's Kerala face V Muralidharan are the the BJP candidates from Maharashtra. The three candidates are L Hanumanthaiah, Naseer Hussain and G.C Chandrashekar - a Dalit, A Muslim, and a Vokkaligga (a dominant OBC community), respectively. However, with no choice left, the JD (S) now makes a plan forward, to get ahead with the political game.

Senior lawyer and Congress spokesman Abhishek Manu Singvi filed his nomination from West Bengal with the support of the state's ruling TMC.

The elections in Maharashtra have been necessitated as Congress Rajani Patil and Rajiv Shukla, Vandana Chavan and DP Tripathi of NCP, Ajay Kumar Sancheti of the BJP and Anil Desai of the Shiv Sena will be retiring on April 2, 2018.

Amee Yajnik and Naranbhai Rathwa are the candidates from Gujarat.