Friday, 20 July, 2018

UP bypoll: BJP leading in Gorakhpur, Phulpur

UP bypolls Ruckus after media barred from entering counting centre in Gorakhpur UP bypoll: BJP leading in Gorakhpur, Phulpur
Melinda Barton | 14 March, 2018, 10:45

In Phulpur the SP has taken a lead with 54, 562 votes against BJP's Kaushiendra Singh Patel of the BJP with 47, 631 votes.

Phulpur bypoll: Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 14,239 with 111668 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 97369 votes after ten rounds of counting.

In Gorakhpur, the Samajwadi Party was ahead of the Bharatiya Janata Party, which was earlier held by Chief Minister Adityanath. The arrangement between the parties has left BJP in an uneasy position and entire BJP machinery had to do a war like campaigning on both the seats. The seats were vacated by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and his deputy Keshav Prasad Maurya of the BJP and today's by-election is a prestige battle for the ruling party, which took on the combined might of regional heavyweights Samajwadi Party and Mayawati's BSP. The byelection generated a lot of interest with many experts viewing it as a rehearsal for 2019 Lok Sabha elections, particularly in Uttar Pradesh.

Gorakhpur is an important seat for the BJP as it is the bastion of the chief minister, who represented the seat in the Lok Sabha five times. But it was triangular fight at Gorakhpur between the BJP, SP-BSP and the Congress.

The BJP, which has an overwhelming majority in the state Assembly, has nothing to lose in terms of number, but the polls can be a precursor to the general elections next year.

The UP government as well as the state BJP has prepared a long celebrations and programmes for the anniversary starting from March 18 next but the results which is slated to go against the party has dampen the spirit of the party rank and file.

There 19.61 lakh voters in Phulpur parliamentary constituency, while there are 19.49 lakh electorate for Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat.

However, as of now, only the initial rounds of counting has been completed, and these are heavily influenced by postal votes. Polling was held up at Kidwai College in Allahabad (East) for some time due to a technical glitch. Both Chief Minister Adityanath and Maurya claimed victory for the BJP candidates, irrespective of the voter turnout in the two seats. The candidates of the Grand Alliance of RJD, Congress and HAM were trailing in all three seats.