Sunday, 09 December, 2018

RJD Wins Jehanabad, Ahead in Araria; BJP Retains Bhabua

EVMs at a counting centre in Bihar's Araria EVMs at a counting centre in Bihar's Araria
Melinda Barton | 14 March, 2018, 13:12

The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) is leading in Jehanabad assembly seat of Bihar.

# Samajwadi Party's Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel leading by 12,231 votes with 99,557 votes, BJP's Kaushlendra Singh Patel second with 87,326 votes after eight round of counting. Counting of votes is stil underway. In absence of Lalu Yadav, who is behind bars in connection with two fodder scam cases, his son and leader of the opposition Tejashwi Yadav spearheaded RJD's poll campaign in Bihar bypolls.

With UP by-elections turning out to be a gloomy affair for the BJP, the lead in Araria and Bhabhua constituencies in Bihar comes as a good news.

Now RJD is leading by 8,899 votes. To dethrone the Saffron party from Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabah seats, arch rivals the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) formed a strategic alliance to counter the BJP. The party is now leading in both the constituencies. In the Bhabua and Jehanabad Assembly constituencies in Bihar, where bypolls were also held, the voter turnout was 54.03 per cent and 50.06 per cent respectively, Bihar's Chief Electoral Officer Ajay V Nayak said.

AM: BJP leading by 5500 votes.

Bharatiya Janta Party showed initial gains in the Araria and Bhabhua constituencies in Bihar while Janta Dal United lead from Jehanabad seat. This is the first electoral battle in the state since Chief Minister Nitish Kumar, head of JD (U), broke out the alliance with the RJD and the Indian National Congress and joined the NDA Alliance a year ago.

According to latest data, RJD's Sarfaraz Alam, who had in the earlier rounds trailed behind BJP's Pradip Kumar Singh, was now leading by about 14,500 votes after ninth rounds of counting of votes.

The RJD's Suday Yadav is ahead by a big margin in Jehanabad, where bypolls were held after the death of his father Mundrika Singh Yadav.