Monday, 23 July, 2018

WhatsApp extends message deletion window beyond an hour

WhatsApp tips and tricks EXPRESS NEWSPAPERSYou get a few minutes to delete a message once it's been sent
Sherri Watson | 12 March, 2018, 14:53

WhatsApp only few months ago launched the Delete for everyone feature that allows users to delete any sent message on the app. To be precise, it's one hour, eight minutes, and 16 seconds, according to a tweet by WABetaInfo.

It's not clear why the limit is now so specific, apart from being 2^12, and the WhatsApp support pages don't provide any additional info on the time limit.

WhatsApp is also reportedly working on a new "Forwarded message" feature to make the receiver aware that the sender has forwarded it from a different chat or group, or even from the same chat. However, many Android users, through unauthorised WhatsApp versions could delete WhatsApp message as old as 3 years.

"A new WhatsApp for iOS update (2.18.31) is available on Apple AppStore".

WABetaInfo notes this means you can prevent someone from deleting a sent message simply by switching off your phone for a day, and that hackers can still use modified versions of the WhatsApp app to delete messages sent within the last day. But once, the set time has passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

What's more, if you do delete a message, the other people in the conversation see a "message deleted" alert - so they know that you've said something you've regretted, and may ask you some awkward questions about it.

The latest version of the WhatsApp beta app can be found in the Store here. However, it allowed for only a rather short seven minutes, for your (possibly drunk) brain to decide to erase errant messages from your own and the recipient's / group's device.

The report states that the chat app has decided on 24 hours as time frame to ensure that the recipient receives the revoke request.