Monday, 10 December, 2018

Meghalaya: HSPDP says no to Conrad Sangma as CM; favours Prestone Tynsong

Ahmed Patel and Kamal Nath would land in Shillong post noon and will hold discussions with party leaders including outgoing chief minister Mukul Sangma Meghalaya: HSPDP says no to Conrad Sangma as CM; favours Prestone Tynsong
Melinda Barton | 07 March, 2018, 18:07

Biren Singh, Assam Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, designated Nagaland Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, former chief ministers Pu Zoramthanga and Prafulla Kumar Mahanta witnessed the swearing in ceremony at the lawns of the Raj Bhavan.

Among them, 6 will from NPP, 2 from UDP, 1 each from BJP, PDF and HSPDP.

"A pre-poll alliance was forged between the UDP and HSPDP but they (UDP) did not consult us when they proposed the name of Conrad Sangma to be the chief minister", HSPDP Chief Ardent Basaiawmoit said.

Besides Sangma, four MLAs from NPP, three from UDP, two from PDF and one each from BJP and HSPDP.

"Earlier, Congress had made all attempts to convince the regional parties to support it in government formation, even as outgoing chief minister Mukul Sangma came with a proposal of sharing power €" two-and-half years each €" with UDP, one of the main regional parties in the state. The victory of Gujarat and Himachal will have huge impact here in Tripura because the worthless government which is ruling here for the last 25 years is dependent on the defeat or victory of BJP in some other state as they do not have any report card of their own.

The 11 other MLAs who took oath as ministers along with the chief minister include, Conrad's elder brother, James Pangsang Kongkal Sangma, former Congress ministers Prestone Tynsong, Comingone Ymbon, and Sniawbhalang Dhar and Metbah Lyngdoh, Lahkmen Rymbui, and Kyrmen Shylla of the United Democratic Party.

According to sources, senior Congress leaders Ahmed Patel and Kamal Nath left for Shillong this morning to work out possible tie-ups with independents in Meghalaya to form a government there.

The Indian state would now be ruled by a coalition government as the NPP won 19 seats.

Sangma is the 12th chief minister of Meghalaya. The governor advised Sarkar, who was chief minister since 1998, to continue until the new chief minister takes oath. "Obsessed instead with grabbing power, using big money to create an opportunistic alliance", Gandhi said.

Moreover, the chief minister said that it was his duty and responsibility to carry everyone all along.

In Nagaland BJP-NDPP alliance was not able to gather a clear majority but party participation in the future government in the state is looks certain. "My best wishes to this team as it begins to work towards fulfilling the dreams and aspirations of the people of Meghalaya", he tweeted.