Wednesday, 23 January, 2019

BJP will taste defeat in Gorakhpur Lok Sabha bypolls: Samajwadi Party

The Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat was vacated by Chief Minister Adityanath last year The Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seat was vacated by Chief Minister Adityanath last year
Melinda Barton | 06 March, 2018, 19:28

Putting all speculations to rest, Bahajun Samaj Party (BSP) chief Mayawati on Sunday ruled out any alliance between her party and the Akhilesh Yadav-led Samajwadi Party for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

Yogi Adityanath, during a rally in Gorakhpur, further said, "This alliance just goes to show the pitiable situation the two parties have reached. Meghnad would be born as Akhilesh Yadav and Surpanakha as Mayawati".

While the SP has been willing to tie up with the BSP for a while now, the latter kept snubbing any talk of an alliance.

She added that while forging an alliance, she would see whether her party got a respectable number of seats. The combined strength of the support base of the two parties, that is, Muslims, Yadavs and Dalits, look unbeatable.

The saffron party has fielded Kaushalendra Singh Patel from Phulpur and Upendra Dutt Shukla from Gorakhpur against the SP's Pravin Nishad and Nagendra Pratap Singh Patel respectively. On the eve of the Uttar Pradesh elections, his government had included the community in the Scheduled Caste list.

Can the alliance defeat the BJP?

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) will taste defeat in Gorakhpur bypolls and it will be the beginning of party's decline, senior Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Ram Govind Chowdhury said in Ballia in Uttar Pradesh.

In the 1993 UP assembly elections, they came together to halt the rise of the BJP.

Amid reports of an "understanding" between arch-rivals Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party in Uttar Pradesh bypolls, the Congress on Monday made it clear that it will not tie up with any party and asserted that its candidates will contest the elections. But it was in 2014 that Congress lost the seat to Maurya. "Two forces (BSP and SP) have joined hands to wage a war against the feudal and communal forces in the state". This does not include the Congress' votes. The five segments in the Gorakhpur Lok Sabha seats are Caimpiyarganj, Pipraich, Gorakhpur Urban, Gorakhpur Rural and Sahajanwa. BJP is looking to retain both the seats. "We are simply informed of the decisions, and opposing any decision will mean expulsion from the party", a state-level leader said.

SP+BSP+NISHAD+Peace Party+RLD: 42.4%.