Monday, 20 August, 2018

India defeat Pakistan to triumph in Blind Cricket World Cup

The India Blind Cricket team The India Blind Cricket team
Melinda Barton | 21 January, 2018, 02:12

The final of Blind Cricket World Cup 2018 is being played at Sharjah Cricket Stadium between Pakistan and India on Saturday.

The victory on Saturday comes after India's T20 Blind World Cup victory previous year. Vekantesh and Parkash wickets gave hope to Pakistan to remain alive in the game, but Sunil's brilliant 93 runs and Ajay Reddy's 62 runs made the target easy for the Indians. India started off their chase in a cracking manner racing to 111/1 after 15 overs but soon lost two quick wickets in the form of run-outs to be at 116/3 after 16th over. Captain Nisar Ali also managed to add 47 runs.

Besides the Blind World Cup fixtures, India on their home ground in 2016 won the Asia Cup for Blind and then lifted the 2017 World T20 title by defeating Pakistan in the final. Ramesh led the run chase as India overhauled the target with eight balls to spare to retain the trophy that they had won in 2014 after beating the same opponents at Cape Town, South Africa.

The Pakistan Blind Cricket Council had invited International Cricket Council CEO David Richardson, former Pakistan captain Zaheer Abbas and ex-Indian wicketkeeper Syed Kirmani to witness the final. NCC has begun organising tournaments for the blind men and women cricketers for the first time in West Bengal on an annual basis.

India have already won once over Pakistan earlier in the tournament this year.