Friday, 22 February, 2019

BJP, Congress hit out at Arvind Kejriwal over RS picks

Image PTI Image PTI
Nellie Chapman | 12 January, 2018, 17:57

The decision was announced after a meeting of the political affairs committee (PAC), the party's highest decision-making body, called by AAP's national convener and Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal.

At a press conference, he alleged that the AAP was sending N D Gupta to the Rajya Sabha with the support of the BJP. I have been rewarded punishment for that today, and I thank myself for that.

After he was denied a Rajya Sabha nomination, disgruntled AAP leader Kumar Vishwas said he has been "punished" for speaking the truth.

On his exclusion from the nomination, AAP leader Kumar Vishwas was quick to express his displeasure and before the mediapersons and also took to Twitter.

Ending weeks of speculations, the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) on Wednesday nominated Sanjay Singh, Sushil Gupta and Narayan Das Gupta as its Rajya Sabha nominees.

"I congratulate Arvind today that I accept my martyrdom". Delhi Congress chief and former Union minister Ajay Maken, however, had a different tale to tell about Sushil Gupta, whose net worth is estimated to be a staggering Rs 164 crore. There are some prominent names doing the rounds but Sanjay Singh is the only name that has emerged without any disagreement from anyone.

After that, the party considered leaders from within and the name of Sanjay Singh was accepted by almost everyone involved. Ex-AAP leader Yogendra Yadav tweeted.

As per the reports, the party does not plan to field any of its leaders for the three seats in Delhi which got vacant in January.

Over the past few weeks, Vishwas had not made any secret of his ambition of becoming a Rajya Sabha member. Meanwhile the AAP in Delhi has claimed to win all three seats, as it enjoys a majority in the 70-member Delhi assembly. The elections for the three Rajya Sabha seats from Delhi would be held on January 16.

Party sources said that after considering the names of personalities such as former Reserve Bank of India Governor Raghuram Rajan, and party insiders, they have nearly finalised the names of Mr. Sushil Gupta and Mr. N.D. Gupta.

Delhi sends three members to the Rajya Sabha.