Понедельник, 11 Декабря, 2017

Deleted WhatsApp sent messages might not be gone forever

This app gives you access to 'deleted messages' on WhatsApp; here's how it works Embarrassing Whatsapp messages sent to you and then recalled by the user can STILL be read: Here's how to access
Sherri Watson | 16 Ноября, 2017, 17:09

Instant messaging app WhatsApp's recent feature "Delete for Everyone" feature is found tobe ineffective as it can remain active elsewhere in the device to be visible for recipients.

However, it has an unusual shortcoming.

A popular Spanish blog which is named Android Jefe claims that the messages once deleted from their and receivers phone on WhatsApp is still present in the device. While it isn't a big flaw, it's still a unusual discovery.

If the "Settings" widget is added to the home screen, you will probably find the "Notification registration" option, as we saw in this article with a Motorola Moto G.

After that, scroll down to Notification Log and tap on the relevant entry on the list.

The app not only shows the preview but the entire content of the deleted message. Now, to see the message that was sent to you on WhatsApp, but was later deleted by the sender - you need to open the third party application and head over to the Android notification log section to read the message.

Only text messages can be viewed and one will not be able to recover deleted images, video or other media files.

That said, you can still gain a little peace of mind by removing an embarrassing message from view, even it it's already been seen.

Similarly, a Settings widget can give access to the notification log within the device itself. "What we found is that the messages are stored in the notification register of the Android system". From there, users will be able to see the messages. Along with this, the notification center will consist of the messages for which the user has received a notification.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with "This message was deleted" in your recipients' chats.

Anyone can have access to the deleted WhatsApp messages via a third-party app called the Notification History, notes the blog.

In order for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone, both the users must be using the latest version of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone.

But, WhatsApp's deleted messages can still be read.

The blog further explains that anyone can access deleted messages sent to them either via the Notification Log on the Android device or via a third-party app called Notification History, which is available on Google Play. "The Notification History application is a shortcut to that record". Users will only be able to see the text messages and that too only the first 100 characters of it.

Only devices running Android 7.0 and above can support this trick.