Friday, 24 November, 2017

Joe Flacco Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award

Von Miller nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award Joe Flacco Nominated for Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award
Kristopher Love | 15 November, 2017, 10:05

Peachtree Ridge grad Cameron Heyward was announced Tuesday as one of the 32 nominees for the NFL's prestigious Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award. Here are some of the particulars from the league's release.

Each team nominated a player for the award, which recognizes whomever "best demonstrates the qualities of on-field sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for the game and opponents, and integrity in competition". Then players from around the league will vote on the victor. A panel from the NFL Legends Community, made up of former NFL players, will select eight finalists, with four coming from each conference.

The inaugural year of the award, current Pittsburgh Steelers cornerback and former Browns cornerback Joe Haden was nominated by Cleveland for the award.

Past winners of the prestigious award are Frank Gore of the Indianapolis Colts (2016), Charles Woodson of the Oakland Raiders (2015) and Larry Fitzgerald of the Arizona Cardinals (2014).

Saffold hasn't just displayed great sportsmanship on the field this season, either.

The victor will be announced on the eve of the Super Bowl and will receive a $25,000 donation from the NFL Foundation for a charity of his choice.