Thursday, 13 December, 2018

The new Whatsapp feature that lets you delete messages you regret sending

Original image The new Whatsapp feature that lets you delete messages you regret sending
Nellie Chapman | 30 October, 2017, 08:22

"The feature is being slowly rolled out and users can reinstall WhatsApp in order to download from the server the latest configuration", WABetaInfo said. Merely scroll to the unwanted message, press and hold to see extended options then select "Delete for Everyone". The latest version of WhatsApp now lets you "delete for everyone" those messages that you want to take back for one reason or another. Either you mistakenly sent it to a wrong recipient or you wrote something in the heat of the moment and you immediately regret pressing the send button.

Namely, the option might not function all the time, and the receiver might get to see the message before this gets deleted if it does.

Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. Based on the initial report, the sent message will be deleted from the chat page as well as from the notifications pane. The site adds that in its current implementation, WhatsApp will not notify the user that the message has been deleted.

You can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending.

Tap Delete Delete for Everyone.

According to WABetaInfo, a fan website that tracks WhatsApp, this feature works for messages in text, videos, GIFs, pictures, voice messages, quoted messages and status replies.

Fortunately, the launch of "Unsend" significantly provides a much needed update to billions of WhatsApp users.

Open WhatsApp and go to the chat that contains the message that needs to be deleted. This means that your recipient will still end up seeing the offending message if they are using an older version of the software. Additionally, this feature doesn't work in case of broadcast messages. Deleted messages will then be replaced with a message reading "This message was deleted".

Delete Message For Me allows you to delete your copy of messages that you have sent or received from your phone. The second part is to delete messages only for yourself.