Tuesday, 17 July, 2018

Argentina, France, Poland seeded in World Cup finals draw pots

GK Jack Butland GETTY GK Jack Butland
Theresa Hayes | 13 October, 2017, 17:01

The 2018 FIFA World Cup qualifying group stage matches in the European area, the South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) and in the area of the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) drew to a close on Wednesday, and their results will determine Pot 1 of the 2018 FIFA World Cup group stage draw.

There will be 32 teams in the tournament draw, with 31 having qualified for the tournament and Russian Federation securing their place as hosts.

As qualifying campaigns came to an end in Europe, South America and Central/North America this month, 15 further countries have been able to book their places in Russian Federation in the last few days.

Asked whether he felt disappointment about the USA national team's failure to qualify for the tournament, since many American football fans could have come to Russia, Sorokin said "We can afford neither negative nor positive emotions about the qualifying results of any national team".

Are you disappointed to see these players missing out on next year's World Cup?

Tickets for matches of the World Cup are being sold in three phases.

Either Morocco or Ivory Coast will emerge victorious from Group C. The pair face each other in the final game in Abidjan next month in a "win and you're in" situation. In Group A, Tunisia and the Democratic Republic of Congo can still advance, although Tunisia just need a draw in their final match. While Senegal will be in pot 3, if Burkina Faso, Cape Verde or South Africa win that qualifying group they are certain to be pot 4.

The draw will take place next week.

The two remaining spots will be determined in cross continent playoff. The highest-ranked teams will be placed in Pot 1, the next-highest in Pot 2...

The country selected 11 host cities to be the venues for the matches of the 2018 World Cup and they are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.