Thursday, 19 July, 2018

7th Pay Commission: Centre announces 'Diwali bonanza' for 7.58 lakh teachers

7th Pay Commission 7th CPC minimun salary salary hike pay hike Central government employees 7th pay commission latest news 7th cpc news 7th pay commission report It seems a good news is all set to come
Melissa Porter | 11 October, 2017, 20:53

The University Grants Commission (UGC) and the centrally funded technical institutions and teachers of 119 Centrally Funded Technical Institutions such as IITs, IISc, IIMs, IISERs, IIIT and NITIE will be covered under it.

"The annual Central financial liability on account of this measure would be about Rs. 9,800 crore", the government said in a press release. It is expected that the MoC will pave the way for bilateral cooperation between the two countries in the area of skill development.

The minister said the faculty at central government's institutes and universities will get the benefit immediately but teachers at higher education institutions run by the states may have to wait a bit longer.

The revision will enhance teachers' pay in the range of Rs 10,400 and Rs 49,800, and will be applicable from Jan 1, 2016. HRD Minister Prakash Javadekar said that the decision has been taken to attract good talent to academics and also as a sense of justice for all the teachers who are now in the profession. As per the reports, the government is seeking to raise minimum pay of the central government employees beyond the recommendation of the 7th pay commission of 7th CPC. This revision would register an entry pay growth in the range of 22% to 28 %.

The government hopes that the new measures will help attract and retain talented teachers, and also boost quality of higher education.

However, past year the recommendations of the 7th Pay Commission and the pay hike get allowance by the Union Cabinet for raising the minimum pay from Rs 7,000 to Rs 18,000 per month.

Extending benefits of the 7th Pay Commission, the Cabinet on Wednesday revised pay scales of around 8 lakh teachers in central and state universities.