Monday, 20 August, 2018

Your Android backups will be deleted if your device is inactive

Your Android backups will be deleted if your device is inactive Your Android backups will be deleted if your device is inactive
Sherri Watson | 17 September, 2017, 01:23

Next time you are temporarily switching devices and platforms, do do not forget to use the account with an Android device again before its expiration data to avoid losing apps and backup data.

What led Google to such a step is another story but the pain of this was experienced first-hand by a Reddit user. They just deleted my data. The chances are that you will use your phone on your return, but there are certainly circumstances in which this may not be the case (you might switch to another device for a while, for instance) - and then your data will be lost forever.

While the backup functionality has been available for Android users for quite some time, with Android 6.0 Marshmallow the search giant improved the service and users can even have their backups stored in Google Drive folders.

Apple's policy reads deletion will include "device settings, device characteristics, photos and videos, documents, messages (iMessage, SMS, and MMS), ringtones, app data (including Health app data), location settings (such as location-based reminders that you have set up), and Home screen and app organization".

Google does not mention an explicit expiration date for backups which suggests that it is dynamic in nature and not fixed.

Be careful, tech giant Google will erase your Android backup of your Android gadget if your cell phone stays inert or inactive for 60 days.

As Android Police advises, if you're taking a break from Android, make sure to use your device from time to time. For instance: "Expires in 54 days". Google will still delete the data.

What is particularly worrying about the process is that Android users are not informed about this.

According to Google, support for Google Drive on the PC and/or Mac will be ending on the 11th of December. When users import data from an old Android phone to a new Android phone, the new device is treated as the active device by the servers and the account is active.