Wednesday, 18 October, 2017

Maharashtra Civic Polls: BJP Under Fadnavis Takes Congress Stronghold Latur

Narendra Modi impact: BJP goes from zero to hero in Latur, wins 38 seats in bastion of late Vilasrao Deshmukh Maharashtra: BJP wins Latur, Chandrapur; Congress wins Prabhani
Melinda Barton | 21 April, 2017, 19:48

Mumbai: Continuing its winning streak in Maharashtra, the ruling BJP on Friday won Latur and Chandrapur municipal corporations, out of three civic bodies that went to polls on April 19.

Latur has predominantly been a Congress stronghold, electing former home minister Shivraj Patil for seven consecutive terms and playing home turf for former chief minister Vilasrao Deshmukh.

According to the latest reports, the BJP won 41 seats out of 70 seats of the Latur Municipal Corporation, pushing Congress party to second position.

LIVE- Latur Municipal Corporation Election Results: While the BJP is leading on 31 seats, the Congress has now secured lead on 25 wards. It's another victory for Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, who led the campaign.

Stakes were high for the AIMIM in Parbhani as being close to Nanded, where the party had won the civic election first time in Maharashtra, Owaisi brothers were regulay vistor to the town.

In 2012, the Congress won 26 seats, BJP 18, NCP 4, Shiv Sena 5, BSP 2, MNS 1, and Independents (10).

Congress had won 49 seats in 2012 polls, but managed to win just 28 seats in this year's Municipal Corporation elections.

Nilangekar and the local Congress MLA Amit Deshmukh. "If the BJP is voted to power", Mr Fadnavis said, the party would "ensure Latur becomes drought-free". #MahaVoted4BJP. We will work harder and continue to work for every citizen with our mantra of good governance to serve the last man! A total of 7,93,621 voters were eligible to exercise their franchise in the three corporations, where 62 per cent voting was registered. There were 418 candidates in the fray; number of voters was 2.12 lakh. It was a test for district guardian minister and senior Sena leader Diwakar Raote.

In February, the 46-year-old Chief Minister was credited with the BJP's resounding victory in local elections in regions like Amravati and Pune.