Thursday, 26 April, 2018

KC awarded more NCAA championships

Omaha Skyline Sunset Collin Ulness SOURCE Collin Ulness
Sherri Watson | 20 April, 2017, 07:00

"We are excited to host these upcoming NCAA championship events in Indianapolis with our partners", said Ryan Vaughn, Indiana Sports Corp President. Golden Eagle Country Club also hosted that year and FSU finished third and advanced to the NCAA Championship.

One of those states, North Carolina, got a handful of events after losing championship previous year when the NCAA found that state laws limited legal protections for the LGBT community.

The 2018 national meet will be hosted by Colorado in Steamboat Springs and 2019 by the University of Vermont at Stowe Mountain Resort and the Trapp Family Lodge.

"It is a tremendous honor for the city of Pittsburgh and the University of Pittsburgh to be chosen as hosts of the 2019 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships", said Director of Athletics Heather Lyke.

Among other cities that landed first- and second-round men's basketball games: Des Moines, Iowa, and Tulsa, Okla., in 2019; Omaha, Neb., and St. Louis in 2020; Wichita and Dallas in 2021; and Fort Worth, Texas in 2022. The NCAA selected its championship host sites for the next five years on Tuesday, picking Myrtle Beach to host a 2019 Men's Golf Regional.

Florida State will play host to the NCAA Tallahassee Women's Golf Regional at the Don Veller Seminole Golf Course and Club May 9-11, 2022. It will be the 10th time the school has hosted a regional since the NCAA began sponsoring the sport in 1982. Wichita will host the first and second rounds of Division I men's basketball in 2021. Lawrence was one of 613 host sites for Divisions I, II and III that were awarded for this cycle.

Kansas City and Sporting Park will now host the game through the 2021 season after hosting the event since the 2014 campaign. "To have our first national championship here on our campus is something we all will take great pride in and make it the best championship experience for Division II field hockey".